• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SynnerG

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 27, 2010
    Hope this is the right place to ask, but I'm looking at getting into IDPA, but I'm completely new to this and looking for some guidance. I read over the sticky for gear and I have an XD-M in 40, with two extra mags with mag holders, and a stiff carry belt and holster. Beyond that though, I'm in Bloomington and not really sure where the closest place these matches take place and how easy it is to go to an event and be like "I've never done this before, so don't laugh..."

Is there someone I should talk to specifically or a site to visit for signing up? Are there normally entrance fees or are there open times for newbies? Any direction is appreciated!

indycruzr

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 9, 2009
    Indy Westside
    SynnerG, there is an IDPA match this Saturday (09/03) at Altanta CC, in Altanta, IN. Here is the link to their website - IndyIDPA. Atlanta is about 20 minutes north of Indy. You might also check out the IDPA Forum - IDPAforum Forums.

For the Atlanta match, show up before 9:00 so you can attend the new shooter's meeting. Register to shoot, then tell your RO/SO you are a new shooter. The RO/SO will help and answer any questions for you.

PM is you have any specific questions. Always willing to help new shooters to IPDA.

I wish you well. Remember to bring plenty of ammo!

RangeJunkie

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Aug 15, 2011
    Geist
    Everyone at the matches I have been too (USPSA and Friday Night Steel) everyone is always very friendly. So I'm sure the people at IDPA will be the same. Honestly, you will prolly be surprised at how many people at the competition are registered users on here. It's a small world! Have fun in what you decide to do! :ingo:

DustyDawg48

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    May 11, 2010