M&P Range Report - Shield and Compact (9mm)

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jagee

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Jan 19, 2013
    New Palestine
    Disclaimer: I am by NO means an expert shooter, or even a very good shot for that matter. I am young in years and fairly young in shooting experience. I have shot with my grandpa since I was little but have no official training (I know, I know...I'm working on it!)

I just received these guns over the weekend and have never shot either one, or any M&P for that matter.

Ok, on to the report:

Shield: Fired approximately 100 rds throughout a 1/2 hour time frame

It was a little snappy but I got the hang of it rather quickly. The grip, although slim, was not bad at all in my rather large hands. The sight picture was good and I had no trouble getting on target rather quickly (quickly for me...remember, I'm no expert). My grouping was larger than I'd like but I was able to keep approximately an 8-10" diameter.
    I did have 3 FTE's, 2 of them back-to-back, one in another mag. I believe these were an ammo issue, but I'll get to that. No other issues encountered at all. I do prefer the extended 8 rnd mag, but was shooting decently with the 7 without a pinky extension.
    Overall I am very happy with the Shield 9mm and would definitely trust my life with it (provided I have proper ammo).

9c: Fired approximately 100 rds throughout a 1/2 hour time frame after warming up with the Shield