• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • chiggins83187

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 28, 2009
    Whitestown
    My only experience in hunting is sitting in a blind last year with my brother-in-law, but the farmer's cows got loose, so they sorta ruined the day! So, I'm a complete noob, so I turn to the always faithful, highly educated minds of INGO! :ingo:

My friend/pastor died in January, and this was going to be his first year to take his son (10 years old) hunting. His son is still really interested in getting to hunt, so we are going to learn together. He said he wants to hunt deer and squirrel, and maybe duck & rabbit.

I know we need to do the hunter ed course (I was born in '87), so I've been looking online for upcoming courses. I'm looking for advice on what guns we should get. In talking with my BIL and others, they say I can use a 12 gauge and do pretty much everything. They suggested a 20 gauge for him.

I was in Premier Arms today and they have a nice looking Mossberg 535 combo which I was very close to buying. So, what are your suggestions on 12 & 20 gauges (or other ideas)?

Marc

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 16, 2008
    District 6
    i am a remington guy my self, i have a 2 remmy 870's in 12 and 20ga. the mossy isnt a bad gun either but i would go with a 500 if i were to use a mossy. a shotgun is a good universal gun for hunting in indiana, i would suggest using a smoothe bore barrel. for deer use rifled slugs and for everything else they make a various amount shot shells and for duck it has to be lead free ammo along with a waterfoul stamp

Last edited:

Griffeycom

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Dec 20, 2008