• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • erik7941

Marksman
    Nov 26, 2008
    Noblesville
    I've been considering getting a muzzleloader for a few years but haven't yet because I really only want it for deer season and if I don't get a deer during early archery or shotgun season, I usually just bowhunt the rest of the year. I really like Thompson/Center Firearms and have considered the Encore, Triumph, and the Omega. Does anyone have any insight or tips on this or any other suggestions on muzzleloaders that aren't T/C? Any help here would be appreciated. Thanks.

66chevelle

Sharpshooter
    Jun 16, 2008
    greenfield
    CVA Optima. I bought on last year after shotgun season and took my doe with it. I am very happy with it. It breaks open like a single shot and has a very large removable breech plug. Very easy to use and very comfortable to me. Since you live close Greenfield walmart has both the Optima and the Omega and a few others in stock as of last night might want to stop by there and compare to see what one you like. Good luck it to me 3 years to finally buy one for myself and I am glad I did.

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in
    stick with T/C
    250 gr sabot
    2 50 gr pellets
    with right optics 200yd shots.
    i have a 3/4" group @ 150 yds

the gr bullet is somthing you will have to play with. my prohunter and indygunworks omega have basically the same barrel. i shoot a 2 inch group at 100 yds with 250 gr bullets. i also shoot a .5ish group with 300 gr bullets. his was the exact oposite

IndyGunworks

Grandmaster
    Feb 22, 2009
    Carthage IN
    Omega

here is why

gun
    omega.jpg

100 yards
    omega3shot.jpg

200 yards
    200yardomega.jpg

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette