• ...and so much more!
  • Ruger_Ronin

Turkey Herder
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Aug 22, 2017
    Outer Heaven
    Open discussion for primitive or bushcraft pack contents. This could fit in parallel to the BOB thread in survival subforums, but thought let's keep it more on the planned camping side as opposed to SHTF. Shout out to @RealHonestAbe for helping me spend my $$$!

This is my current contents list of solo primitive camping gear. Some old, some new and in need of testing. This differs greatly from our "family gear" as there is little beyond basic need items for survival type scenarios. A lot of the tested gear ends up in there. I will do best to include links to specific items, others are generic and can be had from numerous vendors. Amazon is usually my storefront.

Comments and questions welcomed. Please share thoughts on gear and the "why's" of certain things. I'm no expert on anything, just spent a lot of time in the woods and have rekindled an old primitive love. Enjoy!

I'm currently looking to upgrade to a larger pack, perhaps in the 55L range. It all fits nicely, but a bit snug. Just a bit of breathing room for winter gear. Suggestions welcome. Currently sans food items, that's a follow-up. Just 2-3 days' worth needed, light eating. Water is carried on the belt. I hate Camelbak's.

Seibertron 40L pack. External items: Morakniv 511, Gerber Suspension NXT. Teton XL 0* sleeping bag, old yoga mat (I've been using for 10 yrs to sleep on and shoot off of)

Pouch A (Fire & Light)
    BIC w/ duck tape, BIC w/ attached tube containing water/windproof matches, bayite ferro rod (.5" x5"), 2x tubes cotton & petro jelly balls, 2x chem lights - 1R 1G

Pouch B
    USGI Poncho, XL Shemagh (I love these things. Use them often), 3x 2-packs Hot Hands

Pouch C