• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gungirl65

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 11, 2011
    Richmond
    I bought myself a kayak for my September birthday so I can kayak with my jr high bestie & her family on the weekends.

We drop in at Yorktown at the park. Since we are starting so late in the season we are wanting to keep kayaking as long as possible this year.

I'm new to the sport and would appreciate any tips and advice on accessories and form. What are the do's and don'ts of the sport?

Thank you in advance for being helpful.

hooky

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 4, 2011
    Central Indiana
    Wear your PFD
    Don't get caught up in downed trees in moving water. Give yourself plenty of room to go around them.
    Stay clear of low head dams (they're the ones with the water rolling over the top of the dam)
    Watch for rocks and try to avoid them.
    Get out and stretch your legs occasionally and enjoy the surroundings
    Have fun and enjoy the time with your peeps

StayTrue76

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 21, 2023
    NW Indiana
    I've been out a few times. Don't have a ton of technical advice, but know what's coming your way with maps or talking w/ someone. The other thing that got us was the weather. Being younger, we did not see what was coming and a thunderstorm rolled in. Finally, a few extra granola bars are quick energy. PFDs a must at all times, even it if looks calm. Making a point to consciously enjoy the trips made them fantastic.

xwing

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 11, 2012
    Greene County
    -Lakes are easier than rivers / streams because you don't have to worry about paddling upstream (or arranging a 1-way ride).
    -Many (but not all) public bodies of water require a day-use fee or an annual registration fee.
    -The state of Indiana does not require any registration for non-motor watercraft