• ...and so much more!
  • redneckmedic

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 20, 2009
    Greenfield
    THIS IS A RANGE REPORT THAT I READ A WHILE BACK....BEST EVER

MAKE NO MISTAKE FELLAS...THIS IS NOT MY TEST OR RANGE REPORT, I DON'T WANT TO TAKE CREDIT FOR SOMEONE ELSE EFFORT!!!...I AM JUST SHARING A GOOD READ THAT I FOUND ON A NOTHER FORUM!!! AS STATED AT THE TOP OF THE THREAD

Lethality of the 22 LR standard velocity round

I’ve been shooting the 22LR for many years and even bought a new bolt action 22 LR rifle (Savage Mark II BTVS) so I could train more cheaply for tactical precision rifle matches. As I started to train, I actually became impressed with what could be achieved with the 22LR in short and medium distances and wondered about the actual lethality of the round, so I decided to do some research in that area.

I mean, I know that the 22LR has been a good hunting round for small critters/varmints such as rabbits and squirrels but occasionally you hear it is used as well for killing deers, coyotes and bigger animals – heck, on the internet, you can even find a story about the elephant being killed with a 22LR on the internet, LOL!

During my research, I came upon several instances whereby the 22 LR has also been used by the military and law enforcement as well. There were several stories of Chechen snipers using the 22LR in urban setting or Israeli snipers using it in “crowd control”