• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JJGatesE30

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Jul 22, 2010
    When did you first realize it was YOU, not the gun? :D

The Walther P22 was my first handgun 7 years ago. I use to say it was lots of fun to shoot but not accurate at all. One day I took a friend shooting with me, he was a pretty good shot.

We were at an indoor range shooting paper targets at about twenty feet. I went first and threw out ten rounds all over the place, some not even hitting the 2'x2' target. He sent his target out to the same distance and fired ten rounds out of the same P22, same ammo. He put all 10 into a baseball sized group. :facepalm:

"Oh, now I get it, I suck!"

I'm not a pro by any means these days but since that day I can actually call my shots a group. The next step is to get into competition, where I'm sure the suckage will start all over again!

Anyone else have a similar experiance?

shibumiseeker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   0
    Nov 11, 2009
    near Bedford on a whole lot of land.
    I have found very, very few pistols that were so inaccurate as to be worse than the shooter. Usually the ones were old rusted out shot up POS. I've never seen a new, modern pistol that was so inaccurate as to be unusable.

I posted last year when I got my Walther PPS .40. With my EDC guns and my target pistols I can keep a 2-3" group at 50', no problem. I was all over the paper with the Walther. My GF picked it up and shot great groups with it. The Walther just does not fit my hand properly and even now with over a thousand rounds of practice and constant dry-fire practice it takes a lot more effort to get tight groups with it.

I love coming across a used pistol or someone else's gun and seeing the sights cranked so far over as to have no contact with where the gun is actually shooting.

revance

Expert
    Rating - 88.9%
    8   1   0
    Jan 25, 2009
    Zionsville