Things to look for when purchasing a used gun.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • midwestmobster

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 10, 2023
    Indianapolis
    I am very new to gun ownership and I'm wondering what I should be looking for (defect wise) when purchasing a used gun (semi-auto pistol, ar15, and revolvers)? This would be a private seller purchase as I see better deals on here sometimes and may be interested in a purchase.

TJ Kackowski

Let it begin here.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    133   0   1
    Jun 8, 2012
    Hendricks County
    WOW! That's a tall order.

First off, if dealing with the vast majority of INGO members, you have nothing to worry about.

For buying from non-INGO members, my recommendation is that before you start buying firearms, by yourself, you spend some time with a friend who has the same or similar firearm and get to know the manual of arms for that firearm. Maybe even learn how to field strip it for cleaning and shoot it a bit. After you know how it works, you'll be better versed in what to look for when buying. This applies to both new and used purchases.

OR ... you can do what most of us do and just buy what you want and can afford and learn from your mistakes.

COOPADUP

Accipiter
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Aug 8, 2017
    Hamilton County
    Look for wear marks, both inside and outside to give you a feel of how much the firearm has been used.
    Check function and verify that the weapon is working properly.