My First day with a Mosin.....and Range Report.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • edsinger

Master
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Apr 14, 2009
    NE Indiana
    Well after the first shot I didn't think it kicked to bad.:yesway: It shot way high at 50 yards. After settling down a bit, I noticed that it was about 8-10" at 50 yards. I aimed at the same spot in each group of 3 shots and they were for the most part within 4". Once I had the distance adjusted for, I was shooting very well. After about 20 rounds, I DID notice the mule kick.:D I started shooting very poorly because of it I think. :dunno:

Someone there had a Mosin with a 'pad'. He offered for me to shoot it and I tell you what, I am ordering a pad. It was night and day.:rockwoot:

So, after quite a few rounds I realized that my shoulder hurt. I think it was that I was taking the butt OFF my shoulder before I shot, which of course is much worse.:popcorn:

When I got home the wife asked how it was, and I showed her..

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Anyhow, the verdict is : I will be getting another sometime, maybe a carbine version and I will continue to shoot it. I LOVE it!:rockwoot:

As I side note, I was shooting my pellet gun at 50 yards and it even hurt by that time. Surprisingly though it was VERY accurate for 5 shots. They all would fall within a baseball size circle. The the wind started and the shots were all over the place. (1200 fps Beeman with cheap pellets so ~950fps?).:D

I also shot our AR and did fair, it was Wolf ammo, but my son did well with it so it must have been me.:yesway: