• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Dean C.

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 25, 2013
    Westfield
    So I would like to see if INGO has any advice for me, being as we have folks from all walks of life here. Comming up in the next week or so I have an interview for an internal promotion to supervisor.

It is a union manufacturing environment I have been working at for three years currently. I have past management experience from college working at Burger King (have to make money to take the GF out somehow lol).

On paper I have almost all of the "preferred qualifications", that being said I am pretty young (mid 20's). The question I could see being asked is basically,

"Why should we give you the job over person X who has more manufacturing supervision experience?"

Anyone ever been in a similar situation? I want to make absolutely certain I nail this interview as this would be a huge deal for the wife and myself more than likely allowing us to purchase a house this year.

If anyone wants more details feel free to PM me trying to keep it somewhat vague

DoggyDaddy

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    73   0   1
    Aug 18, 2011
    Southside Indy
    Having also come from a background in the restaurant business, both in and out of management, I would emphasize that the principles of management are the same regardless of the environment. I'm in IT now but have been complimented on my work ethic because it was learned in a fast paced, customer-oriented, and often high stress environment. Best of luck to you! :thumbsup:

femurphy77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 5, 2009
    S.E. of disorder
    Well I'd start out by letting them know that you gain your strength by sleeping in most days. You like to keep the team on their toes by showing up at all hours of the day so you aren't predictable. Lunch "time", pshaw what a dated concept! Just got in to work at the crack of noon? LUNCH!