• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MoonRise

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 6, 2017
    Valparaiso
    Hello. I have a question about the laws in Indiana (or lack thereof) regarding Brandishing. What constitutes as Brandishing a firearm? Last night I witnessed a situation, and I was wondering what Law Enforcement might have done if they had been called.

Last night I was shopping at a local supermarket, just a little bit after midnight. There were 4 people in line at the register in front of me, 1 man and 3 women. The man was attempting to buy alcohol, but was unable to because the 3 women he was with were all under the age of 21. Federal Law [Edit: Indiana State Law, not Federal Law. My mistake. Apologies] states that retailers cannot sell alcohol to a party unless they are all able to prove they are 21 years old (I work in retail, which is how I know this). After being denied his purchase, the man began yelling at the cashier and lifted up the front of his shirt to show that he was carrying a handgun. A manager was called, the man continued to yell at the employees and manager, and continued to show that he was carrying a weapon.

Eventually the group decided to leave. One of the managers said to him that he might not want to show off that he has a firearm if he is going to be screaming at retail employees, because it might be perceived as a threat. This sent the man into another yelling fit about how he has a conceal and carry permit, and that because he's going to be a cop in a year he knows the laws about carrying firearms. Finally, the group left, making snarky comments all the way out the door.

So my question is, does his actions constitute as brandishing a firearm? Do you think police should have been called? Thank you for your input and time!

Last edited:

HoughMade

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 24, 2012
    Valparaiso
    Indiana doesn't have any brandishing laws.