• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Wheezy50

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 10, 2009
    Morgan County
    I'm curious what other hunters are using in their ML for deer this season? I'm still fairly new to smokepole hunting and am NOT happy with the accuracy I've been getting so far. I hear most people talk about 1-3" groups at 100 yds, I can't get close to that right now.

I shoot a CVA Wolf, with a Center Point 3-9×40 scope. I'm using Win 777 primers. I'm shooting 100 grains of pyrodex pellets, and some "Crush Rib" 300 grain sabots. I've been using a Caldwell Matrix rest for sighting in so a solid steady rest isnt the problem.

Question 1: Is the Blackhorn 209 worth the trouble of using loose powder over the pellets? The pyrodex pellets are convienient but so dirty. I swab the barrel between every shot or every other shot. Is the 777 powder/pellets any cleaner than pyrodex? I've read the blackhorn is much cleaner burning than the others but I'd like to know firsthand experience over website reviews.

Question 2: What sabots are other hunters using? I know there will be a lot of opinions on this but i have to start somewhere. Im considering trying some TC shockwaves or Hornady if i can find them somewhere, and probably going to try 250 grain vs. 300

I'm pretty much going to start my setup over from scratch and I'd love to hear others thoughts/opinions. I know my scope isn't the cream of the crop but it should work well enough for deer hunting. I feel like I should be able to get a three shot group of 2-4" with this gun at 100yds. Am I asking too much?

AGarbers

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Feb 4, 2009
    Martinsville