• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RyanGSams

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 10, 2013
    Portage
    Well, today was the first time i was called for Jury Duty, and I was selected. I have never done it before and the paper they send to the house said most trials last 1-2 days. Well after we were selected, the Judge says the case is going to last 7 days. So i am pretty pissed off as I am missing work for at least 4 of those days which will leave me out of about 900 dollars in wages for missing work. But its OK they are paying me 40 dollars/ day. Plus on top of driving to Hammond from Portage... Which is about a 30 minute drive.

As I was sitting on the jury bench, I was hoping to not get picked, but answered questions truthfully. After I got picked I do feel a sense of pride for serving as a Jury since its my Civic Duty as a citizen.

EDIT: With lots of info:

End of Trial was today. We were instructed we had to be Unanimous of our decision.

The Trial was between the School Town of Munster and Joseph Hunt.

Joseph Hunt accused The School Town of Munster and 4 school officials that they had allowed Hazing to be carried out in the boys swim program while it didn't happen in the girls swim program.
    The hazing he said to have happened was his freshman year (2010) at a swimmers house for a pre-sectional hair cutting and dyeing party held only by the team. He said was dragged into a bathroom and had his hair forcibly shaved against his will. This wasn't reported for over a year so about early Feb 2011.