• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • random_eyes

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Dec 31, 2009
    I'd been asleep for a half hour or so, but pretty deep sleep. My barking dogs wake me up; the little one barks at anything, but when the big one corroborates we know something is amiss. I was expecting to see a deer but was shocked to see some grinning young man standing at my front door peering in. I'm half way down the stairs and leaning over to see him, and I'm nearly naked, having pulled on a pair of shorts backwards at the last moment. I non-verbally communicated WTF are you doing here? and he started yelling something about running out of gas. Being big, tall, and hairy, I'm probably fairly intimidating looking, and unfortunately I have quite a bit of practice at gesturing for someone to get off my property, so he didn't waste any time leaving. I was still half asleep and I'm not very good at recognizing faces, for a few seconds I thought he might be a relative or something, but either way, he was more likely to receive a beating than fuel from me for waking me up at this hour.

So now it's 11:30 pm and the adrenaline has me feeling like I won't ever go back to sleep. I regret that I didn't grab a pistol but didn't have quick access to one. There's a gas station 1/10th of a mile down the street, no idea why some idiot would think I'm his personal gas station or whatever it was he was thinking.

Looking forward to the anti-thread "I ran out of gas while taking my pregnant wife to the hospital and some crazy hairy homeowner shooed me off without saying a word" :)

churchmouse

I still care....Really
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    187   0   0
    Dec 7, 2011
    Speedway area