• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • glockman22

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    May 14, 2008
    New Castle
    Been thinking of doing an sbr conversion to my A-15. I know you have to file a form 1, where does one obtain this form 1, and what are the rest of the steps, Do I get MY lower stamped SBR or do I get a new lower. Need some input please. If any one has gone through this please post your experiance and if its worth the headache if there is one.

GJ1981

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008

GJ1981

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    I won't laugh because I'm a NFA noob too, so I'll try and explain without butchering it.

You have two choices with NFA items, individual and trust which is simply who is making the application.

The trust involves setting up the trust to put the weapon in. I honestly don't know much about it so hopefully someone smarter than me will post. Overall the trust would be your choice if your local police chief wouldn't sign off on your form. The advantages to this route is you do not need the signature, finger print cards, and ??

The individual saves the $ from setting up the trust but you will have to obtain the signature, and included all of the other requirements.

I've heard the trust route can be faster but I can not back that claim up.

CountryBoy19

Grandmaster
    Rating - 91.7%
    11   1   0
    Nov 10, 2008
    Bedford, IN
    Ok, so individual is the traditional method of application but trusts and corporations have always been allowed to own/possess NFA items.

Basically it is just as it sounds, either you, as an individual, apply for and own the item, or a trust or corporation of which you're a trustee or officer, respectively, owns the items.

Some advantages of both.

Trust/Corp