• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mconley

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Aug 17, 2008
    Hendricks Co.
    Hey I have a bushmaster xm, I noticed the other day that everytime I chambered a round then extracted it, it had a indention on the primer from the fireing pin. I called bushmaster ( which should be called Dickmaster ) due to customer service, but thats anouther thread all in its self. Anyway they stated it was normal, I have never noticed it on any other of my ARs I have owned, but then again I was never looking for it either. Is it normal? Is a slam fire possible with this?

Also is there any good ( free ) resorces for tactical shooting or just shooting/operating in general for the AR?
    :dunno:

phylodog

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    59   0   0
    Mar 7, 2008
    Arcadia
    It's normal. The firing pin is free floating and will make contact with a primer whenever you chamber a round. I've never seen it cause a problem but it is also the reason our Officers are required to carry their rifles with an empty chamber. The forces generated during a crash could cause an unintentional discharge.

SavageEagle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 27, 2008
    I will say that this is a problem with Free Float pin in the SKS and AK. What causes a slamfire, from what i've researched, is the firing pin block gets gunked up from dirty ammo and lack of cleaning. At some point in time the gunk piles up and the pin sticks out causing a slamfire.

it had a indention on the primer from the fireing pin
    I freaked out too when I seen this on my SKS and started looking it up. According to everything I read, this is possible on any semi-auto firearm with a free floating firing pin. I plan on upgrading my bolt/firing pin block when I get a chance. I'm currently building an AR and hadn't taken this in consideration so thanks for bringing it up!

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0