• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bigdawgtrucks

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 17, 2009
    Does anyone know what the law is when it comes to poaching? If someone is hunting on property they've been told not to, would that be considered poaching as well as trespassing? If its done multiple times could it fall under harassing a hunter? Just wanting to know my options if/when I find someone hunting on property they're not suppose to be on.

Last edited:

wmitchell

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 4, 2009
    Franklin, In
    bigdawgtrucks it sounds like you have your hands full with an individual that has NO respect for a landowner or the people the landowner trusts to be on his property. keep the sherrifs number in your phone and watch your back, I've had some experience in this situation. :xmad:

Jack Ryan

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 2, 2008
    Does anyone know what the law is when it comes to poaching? If someone is hunting on property they've been told not to, would that be considered poaching as well as trespassing? If its done multiple times could it fall under harassing a hunter? Just wanting to know my options if/when I find someone hunting on property they're not suppose to be on.

If you own the ground or have power of attourny concerning tresspassing or if you are leasing the hunting rights... if you don't have any of that you are wasting your time.

Get the county sherrif number in your cell phone and the CO officers numbers in your cell phone. Contact them now and explain the situation.

Then when they are caught ask the law to prosecute on every violation possible. If it turns out to be the land owner's son in law and he doesn't really want him in trouble... or any other reason they go to all the trouble to catch them and then you don't prosecute they will never answer your call again.

pftraining_in

Sharpshooter