• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • perry

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 18, 2010
    Fishers, IN
    Found out this afternoon that I'll be losing my job of 7.5 years on November 29. Why? Because they're instituting a new policy that any contractor that has been there more than 18 months needs to go. Why? I don't know. Yea, I've been a contractor that long but I got benefits and PTO, so it wasn't a bad deal.

There's 7 of us effected, out of a group of 9. We have sorta suspected this would happen for a few months, but it still sucks to hear the news, and for the last day to be Black Friday. Guess I won't be going TV shopping! :(

I do desktop support work and just finished my MBA, so if anyone hears of anything near Fishers, let me know.

Otherwise, just venting. :ar15::ar15:

TheSpark

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 26, 2013
    That's always tough. We all go through it at some point (most of us many times). Good luck.

Que

Meekness ≠ Weakness
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 98%
    48   1   0
    Feb 20, 2009
    Blacksburg
    I'm sorry to hear that, man. I recently went through a similar situation and it took a couple of months to find something. Work your network and don't get discouraged.

perry

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 18, 2010
    Fishers, IN
    That's always tough. We all go through it at some point (most of us many times). Good luck.

Yep, not the first time for me. But still pretty frustrating. I'll land on my feet, I'm sure.

I'm sorry to hear that, man. I recently went through a similar situation and it took a couple of months to find something. Work your network and don't get discouraged.

Fortunately, I live well within my means (read: tiny gun collection), so I can ride out a few months with unemployment & savings. It's just the boredom that I fear the most!

We are hiring.
    smile.png

Brownsburg would be a helluva commute!

Que

Meekness ≠ Weakness