• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • D-Ric902

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 9, 2008
    After the parking lot bill was signed this summer these signs are showing up. No gate or controlled entrance, is this enough to fall under the bill as a private parking lot?
    Does "subject to search" mean that no guns are allowed under company policy (policy states no guns)

10-28-2010044756PM.jpg

rmabrey

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Dec 27, 2009
    Subject to search is legal mumbo jumbo for if you have a gun you're fired for violating company policy and we don't have to pay you unemployment.

In all reality they probably wont be searching unless given reason to.

Security122

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 18, 2010
    Southside of Indy
    I am not a lawyer. My company has a no guns policy for employees, but since "the parking lot bill" went into effect, the company recognizes employees' right to have a gun locked in their personal vehicles while parked on company property. Some of the parking lots are fenced and gated and is obviously private property. That said, you better not be showing off your gun while it is parked on company property or the no guns policy kicks in and you could be fired. My company also maintains their right to search any vehicle parked on company property, but if a gun was found locked in the trunk, there shouldn't be a problem, if you have a LTCH.

Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    My company also maintains their right to search any vehicle parked on company property

Your company doesn't have a right to search any vehicle parked on company property. They might have a privilege granted to them through an employment agreement, but they don't have a right.

indykid

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 27, 2008
    Westfield