• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • midget

Master
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Apr 2, 2010
    Leo
    I am no gardening expert, so some help would be appreciated. We came from vacation to find our roses look like this after first bloom. Any guesses at what is killing them?
    IMG_2648.JPG

IMG_2647.JPG

Leadeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 19, 2009
    I would say Japanese beetle damage if they looked more like the bottom pic, I've never seen damage from beetles as extensive as the top pic though. Looks like you have some new growth in the top pic unless I'm seeing another plant. Beetles have been very active last two weeks.

midget

Master
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Apr 2, 2010
    Leo
    I haven't seen any Japanese beetles, but I will look more closely tomorrow. Nothing has been sprayed in at least 6 weeks, so I don't think it is chemical. The leaves get those little holes then a couple days later they turn brown. I don't know if it is some type of fungus?

mom45

Momerator
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 10, 2013
    NW of Sunshine
    I don't have any rose bushes, but are they susceptible to fire blight like apple and pear trees get?

Are these bushes that have been established for a while or ones that were recently planted?

midget

Master
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Apr 2, 2010
    Leo
    We purchased the house late winter, so I can't say 100% the age of the plants. From the look of the bases and with how much I had to trim back in spring, they have to be at least a couple years old.

mom45

Momerator
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 10, 2013
    NW of Sunshine
    We purchased the house late winter, so I can't say 100% the age of the plants. From the look of the bases and with how much I had to trim back in spring, they have to be at least a couple years old.