• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 8, 2008
    Indianapolis
    I've dealt with this in the military with a rifle, but I'm still very new to handguns. It has not happened yet, but what can I expect? What is the best approach to this? What should I look for when it happens? Anything else you can think of?

Thanks in advance.

kludge

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfyULpEhmug&feature=related[/ame]

Everyone should have a bunch of dummy round to parctice this stuff on the range.

Last edited:

Rookie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Sep 22, 2008
    Kokomo

CandRFan

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 12, 2008
    Kokomo
    Exactly!!! Have a buddy load your mags. for you and slip in a couple of snap-caps in different places (sometimes including 2 in a row) and then practice that "tap, rack, & press" drill!!! :rockwoot: :yesway:

:cheers:

+1 on the snap caps. Snap caps are helpful to me because I can see if I'm flinching, anticipating, or anything like that when I'm shooting.

rhino

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Indiana
    Failure to eject or failure to extract?

The former could result in a jam (which you can't fix without tools). The latter is a malfunction that can be addressed like a "double feed" and in fact many apparent double feeds are actually failures to extract.

Here's is how I was taught to do and how I teach others:

1. Lock slide to rear (if you can).
    2. Strip magazine; dispose of it (at least temporarily) if you have another, because it is probably the cause of a double feed (if you had one, but not so much a failure to extract).