• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • loudpedal

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Sep 9, 2011
    Parc Fermé
    A friend of mine asked if I could identify an old cap and ball revolver that he found in the attic of a house he bought. I am not familiar with cap and ball or any antique firearms at all. It is not identified by any manufactures stamp. From my internet search the best I can find is that it appears to be a Whitney. It has what may be a date stamped on the bottom of the barrel 1887.
    Anyone have any further thoughts?

The prize for any help will be an attaboy, and a hearty pat on the back if we should ever meet.

Thanks

RustyHornet

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jun 29, 2012
    Fort Wayne, IN
    I'm not an expert, just an enthusiast. This has me interested. Had to look it up. Does not explain what may or may not be a date 1887. Hoping someone with more knowledge pops in. When I first saw it, I thought it looked like a Colt, but the top strap is a Remington thing. Seems to be a combination of the two. There was probably hundreds of manufacturers making revolvers at the time of the civil war. Some may have only made a handful.

Whitney Model 1861 Navy Six-Shot, Single-Action, Percussion Revolver

Appears its had its hammer neutered. Very cool piece though.

edit: more reading says the number is the serial number.

Last edited:

loudpedal

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Sep 9, 2011
    Parc Fermé
    Thanks fellas. I forgot that there is another interesting feature about this piece. There are four parallel notches cut on the top of the right grip. I'll try to post a picture of them this evening.

spencer rifle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    68   0   0
    Apr 15, 2011
    Scrounging brass