• ...and so much more!
  • AllenM

Diamond Collision Inc. Avon.
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    133   0   0
    Apr 20, 2008
    Avon
    I have never done this before. I need to know how hard it is to remove a barrel from an Ak. Specifically a Saiga 308.
    I want to pull the barrel, thread it and reinstall same barrel.
    What should I know?

AllenM

Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    133   0   0
    Apr 20, 2008
    Avon
    Thanks for the link, but that wont work in this case. I need to remove the barrel

kb66

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Sep 29, 2009
    Noblesville
    From research I have done, press the barrel pin out from the right side. I normally put an index mark on the bottom of the barrel and trunnion before I press the barrel out just to make it easier to get it back in the original position. Be sure to put a piece of brass or even just a penny on the barrel to keep the press ram from marring it. The link below is a set of tools that are built for the barrel removal and reinstallation, not that I'm pushing these tools specifically, they are good, but the pics is to give you an idea of what to use and how to do it. You can probably make something similar without a lot of effort.

AK-Builder Barrel Press Kit

AllenM

Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    133   0   0
    Apr 20, 2008
    Avon
    From research I have done, press the barrel pin out from the right side. I normally put an index mark on the bottom of the barrel and trunnion before I press the barrel out just to make it easier to get it back in the original position. Be sure to put a piece of brass or even just a penny on the barrel to keep the press ram from marring it. The link below is a set of tools that are built for the barrel removal and reinstallation, not that I'm pushing these tools specifically, they are good, but the pics is to give you an idea of what to use and how to do it. You can probably make something similar without a lot of effort.