Which design/modeling 2d and 3d software to learn? AutoCAD, maya, inventor etc.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Lucas156

Master
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Mar 20, 2009
    Greenwood
    I have the opportunity to learn autocad, maya, and inventor (all autodesk programs) for free. I am going to focus some of my time to learn one of these but I don't think I have enough time to get through the course material for all of them so I would like to choose one or two(and even some that are not on that list) I am currently majoring in mechanical engineering and I would like to learn 3d modeling as well. Id like to learn some animation but thats not absolutely necessary. What do you think?

the1kidd03

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 19, 2011
    somewhere
    My company uses AutoCAD, but each company is different. Depends on what sort of things/projects you plan to work on and design. Usually it seems that companies in the same "fields" tend to lean to a certain product or another.

ghuns

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 22, 2011
    Inventor is good, free Inventor is great. I think all ME students should learn SolidWorks. It's cheap, it's powerful, but not crazy like Catia or UG. Once you learn HOW to build 3d models in SolidWorks, making the transition to a bigger and better platform is just learning a new vocabulary and learning the additional features of the more advanced platforms:twocents:.

Oh yeah, and screw AutoCad, 2d is dead.;)

TheEngineer

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 12, 2013
    Down South