• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Butch627

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Jan 3, 2012
    NWI
    Neighbor has a 4ft diameter oak tree 15 feet from lot line. Has about a half dozen dead branches 6 in diameter that are 20ft into my yard and a young tree of mine is fighting through them. If I discuss cutting with neighbor he will try to leverage me into doing favors for him and these will linger on for a long time. If I can't cut them Id rather let nature take its course than deal with neighbor. What is Indiana law regarding trimming branches overhanging in your yard?

GodFearinGunTotin

Super Moderator
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 22, 2011
    Mitchell
    I’m not a lawyer but I‘ll bet you if you notify him of hazards of the tree and he is put on notice and does not take steps to remedy them, if something happens that causes damage to your property you have recourse.

I don’t think you can just take action that will detrimentally affect the health of the tree or endanger his property.

Hopefully, somebody that knows more than me will chime in.

Cameramonkey

www.thechosen.tv
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    May 12, 2013
    Camby area
    This has been discussed here several times.

You are allowed to trim ANYTHING on your side of the property line. Limbs, roots, anything. Doesnt matter. Once it crossed your line, you can cut it.
    He is not required to allow you access on his side of the line to do the work. So if its easier to put the ladder on his side, tough.

If anything falls with no advance warning and you havent noticed done anything, any damage is on your homeowner's insurance.