• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Talkinghalls

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 11, 2020
    NW Indiana
    Thinking about getting into small game hunting (rabbit). And possibly farm meat rabbits in the spring.
    I have not hunted before, let alone hunted rabbits. Any suggestions on time of day, and general tips?

Figured I’d use a Ruger 10/22 Rifle. And if I get into farming them next year, maybe grab a .22 pistol/revolver.

IMG_9052.jpeg

Leadeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 19, 2009
    I use a 22 if hunting with dogs, a shotgun if just kicking brush. I've had pen raised rabbits for dinner several times in deer camps and they were delicious. I've been told that they are easier to raise than about any other meat animal.

thunderchicken

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Feb 26, 2010
    Indianapolis
    I've been hunting rabbits for 36 years and this would be my thoughts and advice for a beginner.
    First of all it kind of depends what kind of land you have access to. If it's a private farm, you might be able to get away with catching a sitting rabbit you can take with a .22. If you are hunting public land, you can bet it's going to be thick and I highly doubt you will get much of any chance at catching one sitting. Shaking the brush and hunting with a shotgun is your best bet. The key there is to use the right kind of ammo and don't over choke the gun. I use a 12g with 1 oz #6 shot Winchester rabbit & squirrel loads with either Imp Cylinder or Mod choke.
    I usually hit the brush on public land just about day break as they can become somewhat nocturnal since every predator animal will also be after rabbits. But, I've also had good success hunting after lunch when it warms up a bit too. So try different times