Review: Savage 110 Tactical 24" .308, Arken SH4 GenII 6-24x50, Precision Armament M4-72 brake

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ancjr

1 Kings 18:17-18 KJV
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 20, 2021
    Washington County
    I'm not an expert marksman or rifle builder, just a hobbyist, but had been wanting for many years to put together a good target rifle in a "big boy" caliber like 308.

Finally got the chance to this year and put together the combination as stated in the title. I was able to get an excellent deal on the rifle, considering the current market.

IMG_20220302_172540.jpg

Took it out today to sight it in. Wasn't terribly cold, but I was not dressed appropriately, so was a little miserable.

IMG_20220308_081236.jpg

Got it dialed in with Igman white box 308 from RK at 30 yards.

The trigger was extremely light. I could barely discern the break.

The brake does a great job of keeping the target image steady. I'd say the felt recoil is similar to a lightweight .410 bore.

The Arken reticle and the hash marks helped me convert target measurements into turret clicks, once I got some experience with it.

Eventually, I switched to Norma Tactical 308 to do a final group at ~96 yards:

IMG_20220308_092155.jpg

Measurement is ~2.25" counting the flyer, ~1.375" without.

I'm certain it could be improved with better preparation on my part.

Some possible refinement may be in order as far as adjusting the length of pull, eye relief and comb height, but it's pretty close as is.

Very satisfied with the package overall.

:thumbsup:

Michigan Slim

Master