• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • thunderchicken

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Feb 26, 2010
    Indianapolis
    I have very little experience with any kind of red dot type of optic. I can see where they can certainly be useful on a weapon used for home defense.
    My question is, at what yardage should it be zeroed in at? Also, if you zero it at say 50yds will even be close to accurate on closer yardage such as a 25yd shot?

rb288

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 14, 2019
    Grovertown
    At the muzzle, most red dots will sighted, poi vs poa, 2 1/2 inches high, depending on how much above your barrel the red for sits.
    If you zero at 50yds, poi and poa will be equal at 50 yds.
    So at 25 yds, your poi vs poa will be approximately an inch or so low.
    Since most red dots have a dot size of 2 moa or more, and 1 moa at 25 yds is about 1/4 inch, 1 inch at 25 yes, would be about 4 moa.
    So, basically, with a 2 moa dot zeroed at 50 yds your poi at 25 yds will be about 2 dots, or about 1 inch low.
    Not really enough to be worried about.

Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Aug 4, 2017
    Fishers
    I recently switched from a 15 yard zero to 25. With a 25 yard zero, I'm seeing about a 2-1/2" spread from 5, 15, and 25 respectively.

50 seems pretty far for home or self defense.

*handgun

Last edited:

cosermann

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Aug 15, 2008
    OP, it depends on 1) the cartridge you’re using, 2) the height over bore of your optic, and 3) your anticipated use.

And yes, if you sight in at 50 yds, it will be close at 25 yds (a bit low, but never lower than your height over bore) with most of the usual calibers and setups.

Rifle, shotgun, or handgun?

92FSTech

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Dec 24, 2020
    North Central