• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Flinttim

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 2, 2011
    I've read some of the threads on this but have a question. If a fellow was starting from scratch, no gun, no reloading dies no nothing and was wanting to do reloads using black powder , could you just buy a 45-60 set of dies and brass and use those for a "legal" 45-70 ? What I have in mind is a traditional type gun like a Uberti or Pedersoli, say a rolling block, and build BP loads that would be legal for Indiana deer ? The 45-60 brass would be closer to the 1.8 and some trimming gets it down to "legal", using the 45-60 dies does not necessitate cutting down the crimp die. I've been building and shooting BP rifles for nearly 35 years and just like BP and always have a well stocked magazine of the stuff in all granulations. Am I missing anything here ?

Broom_jm

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2009
    That sounds like more of a question for the DNR, but it basically boils down to this: If you shoot a bullet that is at least .357" in diameter, from a case that is no longer than 1.800" long, yer good to go. Sounds like your plan would work just fine.

djones

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Jan 4, 2011
    Greenfield
    I don't think that you are missing anything. I wouldn't buy 45-60 dies due to cost but there is always more than one way to skin a cat.

I have used my full length sizing die to crimp also if you remove the decapping pin. With the unaltered rcbs cowboy dies I can load 1.8-2.1" brass in 45-70.

I took one doe this year with this load out of a Marlin 1895gs:

Flinttim

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 2, 2011