• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JTScribe

Chicago Typewriter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 24, 2012
    Bartholomew County
    Are you required to register in any way to print up political signs before an election? Just curious as you always see the 'paid for by X committee' in the TV ads.

I was considering having some signs printed up against a candidate here locally this fall. I'm not going to raise money, I have some friends at a printing company and was going to pay for them out of my pocket. Any input?

gstanley102

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Oct 26, 2012
    Delphi
    Good question.

My guess would be that what ever you print needs to be factual and not an opinion.
    Even though it seems politicians can say or print anything they want, I don't think we have the same freedom.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer.

Libertarian01

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jan 12, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    Are you required to register in any way to print up political signs before an election? Just curious as you always see the 'paid for by X committee' in the TV ads.

I was considering having some signs printed up against a candidate here locally this fall. I'm not going to raise money, I have some friends at a printing company and was going to pay for them out of my pocket. Any input?

To JTScribe,

To have this question answered with any degree of accuracy more information must come from you.

Who are you and what do you want to do?

I mean, are you the candidate? Are you working for the candidate? Are you part of a group of any kind that is or will be affiliated with the candidate?

Are you wanting to put up an "issue" sign or a candidate sign?

If you want, on your own, write a sign that says "I love Hillary - Clinton 2016" that is fine, or "Hillary sucks - Change to Republican 2016" that is also fine.