• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mr.Hoppes

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 15, 2008
    New Goshen IN
    On Monday September 1st 2008 I was stopped by 3 Sheriffs from Vigo County as I was leaving a local eating establishment. I had seen them come in and eat as I and my family had at 9:30 am. When they stopped me, they inquired about my side arm on my belt. I was asked if I was a police officer or active duty military and I answered no. I was asked if I had a permit for the side arm and I answered affirmatively, and produced it from my wallet. I was then told that in the state of Indiana it is illegal to “open Carry” that the side arm must be concealed. I was told it said so on the permit if I would read it. Upon reading the permit the deputy couldn’t find the statement he claimed was there. I explained I had asked when I applied for my permit at the Vigo County Sheriff’s office and they said at the time it was preferred that side arms be concealed but it is not required. I have no problem following the law, in fact I want to be within the letter of the law. Indiana state web site which states:
    “ IC 35-47-4-5
    Does Indiana statute require me to carry the handgun on my person concealed or
    exposed?
    Indiana law is silent on this issue; however, carrying an exposed weapon in public may alarm some people. Also, the right to carry a firearm may be restricted on private property and businesses by the owners. Be attentive for signs warning of restricted areas when carrying firearms into public places. If approached by law enforcement for official business such as traffic stops or complaint related inquiries, it is recommended that you tell the officer in a non-threatening manner that you are carrying a weapon or have a weapon in the vehicle and that you have a valid permit. A law enforcement officer does have the right to inspect the permit.”