Grandmaster
    Emeritus
    Trainer Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 15, 2008
    Coatesville
    Yes it has faded. It faded long before I started shooting it. People change. The sport changed and it was too much for many. Most of that centered around equipment, and to a lesser degree rules. This is what you get when a PAC runs a shooting sport. My point is that it was, arguably, the highest attended "action" handgun competition in the state at one time. It had a draw for a good reason.

AP hasn't helped Doug? I guess winning the Cup and the IPSC World Shoot in the same year really isn't all that great of a performance. Or winning the Steel Challenge and the Cup both two years in a row? Doug is a mercenary. He shoots (and wins) matches that pay. USPSA doesn't pay. He shoots that to satisfy sponsors.

And TGO winning Metallic Sight at the Cup, both Open and Limited titles at the Steel Challenge, USPSA Limited and Limited-10 Nationals, the Standard title at the IPSC World Shoot, and IDPA CDP National Championship all in 2002 was just due to luck.

AP will make you a better USPSA, Steel Challenge, and IDPA shooter.

I never said it has not helped Doug. I said it has not helped him in USPSA. His one World Championship was in 1990 I think, and he had a red dot that no one else had for the match. When the equipment is the same he has not won. He did not win the Pro Am and it paid and he was there. he is the best AP guy, and does not perform well at USPSA. I have some dvd's of him doing standing reloads at nationals because he got lost in a 16 round stage. He is a great shooter but his focus in not USPSA and the carry over between the two is not that large. If there was large carry over it would be visible in Doug.