• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CountryBoy19

Grandmaster
    Rating - 91.7%
    11   1   0
    Nov 10, 2008
    Bedford, IN
    Well guys, it's been a while in the making, but I figured I'll spill the beans now that the time is approaching where I'm going to be extremely busy etc.

I've volunteered to do a 6 month deployment (DoD civilian) to Afghanistan for field expedient support of our Special Forces Soldiers. I started training 2 weeks ago, and will continue training for a couple more months before deployment.

You will probably see several other "related posts" now that I've spilled the beans.

Some posts you will be seeing:
    A review on the Sig 516 rifles that we used in training.
    https://www.indianagunowners.com/forums/long_guns/159963-review_sig_516_rifle.html
    A review on the guys that did our hand-to-hand combat, range training, and quals.
    https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...al_evolutions_morris_dynamics_evansville.html

Anything else I see fit.

So far we've completed the hand-to-hand combat training and firearms training.

Our firearms training class ranged from 1 guy that had never shot a gun in his life, 1 that had only shot a 22 once upon a time, all the way to myself (pretty experienced), 1 Green Beret (just came home from Afghanistan and chose to go contractor instead of re-up), 2 Rangers, several other average military guys, and several guys in our program that have already been down-range.

Out of all of those, I was pretty impressed with myself on the range.

The one handgun day my supervisor (16 yrs combined military experience and gun enthusiast) and a few other guys like him were there. We had a "draw and fire" speed competition on some knock-down poppers. I came out on top of all of them (including the SF soldiers). The next day we qualified, I was the highest qualifier with 169 of 176 possible points in handgun.