• ...and so much more!
  • Mr Evilwrench

Quantum Mechanic
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 18, 2011
    Carmel
    I did a little searching in the forum here, but nothing popped out at me, so new thread.

I'm looking for a good hunting set with a gut hook. I've been nickel and diming myself, and I do know better than that, but still I'd like to keep a decent budget about it, maybe $150. I'm not an expert on the steel, but I have to think there's something that will take and keep an edge. Now, I'm not expecting to be able to shave with it indefinitely, but I can't even get through a squirrel without needing a touchup. Am I expecting too much? If you have any recommendations, they would be muchly appreciated.

Tryin'

Victimized
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Nov 18, 2009
    Hamilton County
    Havalon has been my friend for hunting. Dull blade? Slap a new one on there and keep rolling.

They aren't my first choice for anything general purpose, but they are awesome for after-the-kill gutting, caping, and processing.

Havalon Knives

nascarfantoo

Master
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Oct 29, 2012
    Western IN
    I have a Benchmade Saddle Mountain Skinner without a gut hook that went through an elk last fall without needing to touch the edge up. They do make it with a gut hook. Little big for squirrel but has been great on deer and elk.

Knife Center has them for <$150. Skinner

rhino

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Indiana
    How well does a gut hook built-in to a knife blade work compared to a separate tool like a Wyoming Knife?

Mr Evilwrench

Quantum Mechanic
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 18, 2011
    Carmel