• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rabidsquirrel

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 29, 2014
    North Webster
    I just got bumped off the private land I've been hunting for the past 5 years due to new management. Absolute worst time of year for this to happen and now I'm in a panic. It's prime bow season and I need to act fast. My only option is to prowl the public locations now. I need to know what to expect. I prefer not to use a stand, but instead sneaky sneak on the ground. I've only squirrel hunted at tri-county and have never attempted deer hunting. How hosed am I? Is it worth hunting public land? Or, is it just to much of a cluster mess? Should I expect to actually see deer? Help!

ilikeguns

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    May 6, 2012
    Prairie Creek
    I'm not from your area and you obviously can hunt however you choose on public land. However this isn't the west where there are hundreds of thousands of acres to roam and not bother anyone. You are going to seriously tick some people off if you are walking around in prime time at prime hours on Indiana public ground. You WILL be walking in on people and ruining hunts. Again, you have every right to do so and I'm not saying don't, but as a public land hunter myself, it sucks when you are the one sitting in a stand in an area you worked hard to get into and some dude comes stalking through. I occasionally still hunt myself, but I wait for nasty rain or stormy weather and when I Isign in I can see if anyone else is as dumb as I am to be out in it. If not then I will still hunt through thick cover.

Last edited:

rabidsquirrel

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 29, 2014
    North Webster