• Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • What do you do about high ammo/powder prices in LGS?

• Total voters
    • Poll closed .

ScouT6a

Master
    Rating - 92.9%
    13   1   0
    Mar 11, 2013
    Situation: LGS in a smaller/medium sized town (pop. 3500) They have a sizable pile of .22 ammo on their shelf, and have had for a couple of months. Problem is, it's low end ammo, at premium prices. I have walked by it for two months. Same situation on powder. Their powder prices are $7-9 a pound higher than I can pick it up for elsewhere.
    As a small business owner myself and being from that small town, I like to give other local businesses my business, if at all feasible. I would like to buy .22 ammo and powder from them but I have been buying premium ammo for less money, elsewhere. Same as powder.
    Question to you is, do you continue to smile and walk on by it or do you bring it to their attention? Is this normal gun shop etiquette or is it questioning their business practices and therefore rude?

Frosty

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Jan 27, 2013
    Greencastle
    Why spend more to get less? Seems like a waste of money IMHO. I don't know that I'd bring it to their attention, maybe if I knew the owner or an employee, but I'm not going to just walk in and tell them their prices aren't inline with the market, that's not my job, mine is to spend my money in the most cost efficient way possible.

Thegeek

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 20, 2013
    Indianapolis