• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rampdog

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 19, 2011
    Cloverdale
    Are there any disabled shooters that can give advice? I'm a disabled veteran confined to a wheelchair interested in competition shooting. I'm not much of a shotgunner or air rifle type. What's available in pistol or high power rifle? What's the best way to get involved?

Rampdog

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 19, 2011
    Cloverdale
    Thanks! Do I just show up and talk to people or should I call ahead? I know I wouldn't be allowed to shoot the first time through the door.

HICKMAN

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Jan 10, 2009
    Lawrence Co.
    Thanks! Do I just show up and talk to people or should I call ahead? I know I wouldn't be allowed to shoot the first time through the door.

just let us know what you like to shoot. Steel is great for those that aren't mobile as others, as we start from a low ready and shoot from the same spot.

Coach and many other Riley members will chime in as they see this.

and we always tell people to bring their guns, because they always wish they had. ;)

downrange72

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 3, 2009
    SW Indy/Camby/West Newton

You can shoot first time through. Just be safe with the gun, keep the muzzle downrange, finger out of the trigger guard when manipulating the gun. Riley's match is the first Saturday of the Month. Make sure you have enough mags (5 or more) for your weapon. You can shoot from a holster (I've seen competitors have a rig on the side or the front of the chair...as long as you don't sweep yourself) or keep the gun bagged. There aren't many stages that require movement in steel matches.

Friday Night Steel at Marion County Fish and Game is the 2nd Friday of the month at 6:00 p.m. (yeah, it was last Friday)