• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dburkhead

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    I have spent some time searching through the Indiana Code and the ISP and, as best I can tell, there is no prohibition on carrying handguns at polling places (per se, if the polling place were at a school, for instance, then the "no schools" rules would come into effect).

Have I missed anything?

melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    Near as I can tell it is LEGAL to carry while you vote UNLESS you happen to vote at a place that is a designated GUN FREE zone such as a school, courthouse, or other off limits facility. I used to be a poll worker and the voting took place in a church gathering room, no reason why you could not carry there, its not a school and not a designated off limits public building.

I am not a lawyer, but I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

jsgolfman

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 20, 2008
    Greenwood
    Also, be sure to check any local laws or ordinances as the preemption only affects laws after 1994. Just because it isn't listed under state law doesn't mean there isn't some local restriction.

Bill of Rights

Cogito, ergo porto.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Apr 26, 2008
    Where's the bacon?
    Near as I can tell it is LEGAL to carry while you vote UNLESS you happen to vote at a place that is a designated GUN FREE zone such as a school, courthouse, or other off limits facility. I used to be a poll worker and the voting took place in a church gathering room, no reason why you could not carry there, its not a school and not a designated off limits public building.

I am not a lawyer, but I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night.