• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 21, 2009
    In a fog
    Today is the anniversary of the Blizzard of 1978. 33 years ago, wow - time flies! 20" of snow fell on Indy, and more up north. Where were you during the blizzard of 1978?

I was a student at ISU. The snow started to fall during a basketball game (Larry Bird days). By the time the game was over, there was over 5 inches on snow on the ground. Campus was closed the next day! :D

Cemetery-man

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 26, 2009
    Bremen
    I had fortunately purchased my first snowmobile just a couple of months before the blizzard hit. It was great, the workplace closed for a week, no cars on the roads, so it was like a week of snowmobile heaven. The LPD asked those who had snowmobiles to deliver groceries, etc. to people in the country and they (the LPD) even supplied the gas for our sleds and fed us.

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    I was 12 liveing in the boonys of northern Indiana. If I remember correctly we did not have school for 3 weeks couldnt get the car out for atleast a week after that. My stepdad had to ride on the back of the neighbor's snowmobile for groceries.
    We could walk up the snow drift onto the house roof.This was the front of the house which is where the cars were parked.

Dr_O

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 14, 2010
    East Central Indiana
    I was 23. Spent the night on a concrete floor at work.
    Wife was at home alone with newborn twins and a 3 yr old.

Got a ride to within 3 blocks of home, walked the rest.

THAT was a snow storm.

snapping turtle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 5, 2009
    Madison county