• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mac4444

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 29, 2009
    I've been having a discussion with several fellow shooters about .45 acp loads. I've been using Clays for several years (185 HP/XTP & Gold Dot - 4.5 Clays – 5.0 for warmer loads.) plus I also shoot other bullets on occasion also loaded with Clays. Good clean accurate shooting with no residue. Two of my buddies swear by AA #7 10.5 and 11.5 for hotter loads. I generally carry and shoot either a Colt Defender or a Springfield Champion and I practise with every gun I carry at my home range. They swear by the old argument that the fuller the case, the less chance for powder weight deviation, thus more consistent accuracy. I buy this for my varmint reloading but I’m not sure for handguns. I use AA #7 for .357 for my 640 for +P loads. Can any of you experienced pistoleros give me your take on AA#7 for .45 ACP in the 31/2 and 4 inch 1911 barrels? Thanks Mac

PS I tried to search for both 1911 and 45 ACP but nothing came up. This happens all the time for me when I'm trying to go back to older posts on a subject I'm interested in ????

Deputy527

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 83.3%
    5   1   0
    Mar 17, 2009
    Indy WestSide
    I've used Bullseye for 45 and AA#5 for 9. I just recently bought W231, but haven't loaded any up yet.

Bullseye 4.8-5.0 230g FMJ in my Kimbers's. Bullseye is dirty, but I clean religiously. During range time shooting a few hundred, I've not had any function problems. Good cheap powder.

I've been wanting to try Clays, but one powder at a time.

Mac4444

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 29, 2009
    Most accurate .45 ACP load I have ever found