• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BigRed3588

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 4, 2013
    Boynton Beach
    I picked up a used Remington 11-87 police model that appeared to be unfired. Went to the range and got two boxes of 2 3/4 00 Buck (wasn’t familiar with the brand) and it would eject the shell but wouldn’t pick up the next round. I went back into the shop and they swapped out the second box with some Fiocchi 2 3/4 defense rounds. Those wouldn’t even eject. Any thoughts? I heard autoloaders can be picky but I’m relatively new to shotguns and all I can think is maybe I need 3” shells to reliably cycle the gun. It’s rated for both but doesn’t seem to like 2 3/4.

Expat

Pdub
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Feb 27, 2010
    Michiana
    I bought a 1187 a few years ago pretty cheap that had cycling problems. Turned out the guy had decided to do a full breakdown and hadn't put it back together right.

d.kaufman

Still Here
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    128   0   0
    Mar 9, 2013
    Hobart
    I had to run about 100 3" shells to get my Ar12 to finally run 2 3/4" shells reliably. It was recommended to do this for break in 20210529_192945.jpg

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    Clean it, lube it and check the gas system. Not an ammo issue.
    Words of wisdom right here.
    I've seen literally dozens of brand new firearms that had cycling issues until they were thoroughly cleaned.
    The "lubricants" that the guns leave the factory with is more preservative than lubricant.

Mongo59

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jul 30, 2018
    Purgatory
    Buy yourself two gas rings, one to use and one to put in the glovebox of your truck for the next time, and you will be fine...

BigRed3588

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 4, 2013
    Boynton Beach