• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Deadeye(+)

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Feb 4, 2015
    Bainbridge
    I'm brand new to building AR-15's. So I have no clue what to look for. Wanting to build one from the ground up. Like to not break the bank doing so. Being fairly accurate is a big thing for me too. Reliable is an absolute must though. This thing has to go bang when the trigger is pulled. What all opinions do you have?

cbickel

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Aug 31, 2014
    Van by the river
    If you buy a complete upper, give bcm a look. They are still offering free bcg's ($170)with upper purchase.
    I agree. BCM is a good choice. You have to decide what your primary use of the rifle is first before you buy the upper. The lowers are pretty much all the same though.

Deadeye(+)

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Feb 4, 2015
    Bainbridge
    Just general use. No really long range. Prolly nothing more than 100-150 yards if that. Coyote hunting maybe. Target shooting/home defense is probably going to be main use

throttletony

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jul 11, 2011
    nearby
    Any standard 16" setup will work fine for what you ask, in fact it's ideal for the weight and balance.
    i would prefer a 16" barrel (1/7 or 1/8 twist ), w/ midlength gas system
    I'd say to buy a complete upper, and either buy or build the lower.
    you're probably looking at 600-800 in order to stay with reputable Manufacturers

throttletony

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jul 11, 2011
    nearby
    Also, ,get a low power optic (or red dot or irons).
    Don't ruin the thing by putting a huge honkin scope on it.
    by low power i mean 1-4, 2-7, etc. (Maybe 3-9 at most, since thats a common option from most optics companies)

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette