• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Old Salt

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 22, 2008
    Avon
    I am new to the AR world so this may be a really stupid question, but I will ask anyway. I recently bought a Bushmaster .223 and today I ordered the CMMG .22LR conversion kit. I bought the kit so I could practice and have fun on the cheap. How accurate would an AR with the .22LR conversion be within 20 to 30 yards?

Would it be possible to use the AR with the kit to squirrel hunt or is the sight radius of the AR too high for the distance needed. I'm assuming that a scope wouldn't work for this reason. If I am wrong, and in this case I would love to be, it would be fun to hunt with it. When I bought the gun, I told my wife I needed it, because I didn't have a good squirrel gun.:D

repair

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 4, 2008
    Southside of Indy
    I just got back from the range with my tactical solutions .22 upper and it seems to be verry accurate.

I'm still new to ARs so I don't now how the conversions are but I'm sure that I could hunt with mine.

melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    today I ordered the CMMG .22LR conversion kit. I bought the kit so I could practice and have fun on the cheap. How accurate would an AR with the .22LR conversion be within 20 to 30 yards?

Would it be possible to use the AR with the kit to squirrel hunt
    The 22lr conversion kits (I have a Ciener) are reasonably accurate, goo to about 50 yards, not as accurate as a dedicated upper or a 10/22 but still pretty good within reason. The conversion kits rely on shooting a 22lr bullet through a slightly oversized barrel (a 22lr barrel has a smaller internal diameter than a 223/5.56 barrel).

I just got back from the range with my tactical solutions .22 upper and it seems to be verry accurate.