Anyone reloading the 35 Remington for Indiana deer legal ?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gunbunnies

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 13, 2009
    NWI
    Wondering if anyone has been loading to printed load data with the 35 Remington case cut down to deer legal specs for Indiana. Are you using the printed data or lowering the powder charge with the slightly lower case length ?

bstewrat3

Master
    Rating - 100%
    142   0   0
    Apr 26, 2009
    Beech Grove
    Here is the version I have been using for a few years now since case length went to 1.8". It is a 30-40 Krag case that has been cut down, resized in a 35 Remington full length die, trimmed to final length and then loaded with a starting load and heavy cast pistol bullet to fireform. I then load it with a Hornady 180gr SSP-SP bullet over a load of Leverevolution. I shoot it in a 16" T/C Contender.

mike trible

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Feb 11, 2009
    I've been loading the 35 with short neck for about 3 years. I use the printed load data. Only the neck is short, if you use the listed 'overall length' then you are not reducing the case powder capacity. If you crimp, stick to the 'OAL' , don't try to crimp in the cannelure of the bullet.

gunbunnies

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 13, 2009
    NWI
    Sorry missed them....

So your loading standard data but keeping overall length the same ? Any issue with not having the rim of the brass on the cannelure.

bulletsmith

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Apr 26, 2015
    Lake County