• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • michaeltee

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 17, 2011
    I was wondering if someone would like to share their recipes for .45 ACP and the 308 round. I am looking for accuracy in my 1911s (Wilson and Nighthawk). A 200g semiwadcutter would be best in many peoples opinions. Going the cheap route is not my goal. I want to use the BEST components. I am new to reloading, have done my homework, and will soon be receiving a Dillon 550B. I am looking forward to shooting quality rounds for half the price of Walmart. Lately I have been shooting 500-1000 rounds a week, so I am real excited to begin! :rockwoot:

Dave Doehrman

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Aug 17, 2010
    Fort Wayne
    Disclaimer: Use at your own caution. This is the maximum load recommended for Varget in the .308 with a 168 gr bullet.

Prvi Partizan brass
    CCI Large Rifle primers
    46.0 grains Varget
    Hornady A-Max 168 gr bullets
    Case trimmed to 2.005"
    OAL 2.785"

This load is still super sonic at 1,000 yards out of a 26" barrel and has shot 6" groups at 1,000 yards. I also have good results with 45.3 grains of varget out to 900 yards, but I think the round goes sub sonic at 1,000 yards.

JetGirl

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    May 7, 2008
    N/E Corner
    Personally I like 4.0gr of Clays (or 4.2gr of WST) behind a plated 230gr RN bullet in my .45.
    Exactly this ^.

However, my advice would be to use data provided by the manufacturer on their web site or from your reloading book vs. taking random recipes off the net.
    Safety safety. :)

michaeltee

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 17, 2011
    Exactly this ^.

However, my advice would be to use data provided by the manufacturer on their web site or from your reloading book vs. taking random recipes off the net.
    Safety safety. :)