• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mtinner

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 7, 2014
    somewhere in ohio
    I'm new to reloading and have started with reloading .38 spl. I'm using 700X powder because I couldn't find anything else. I have extra .357 cases that I would like to use this powder in. My question is, can I use this powder in the.357 cases using the same .38 spl. load? Thanks

Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Nov 23, 2008
    Mishawaka
    Since the .357 case is longer, yes you can. Only difference being the pressure will be lower since there is more space in the case causing lower velocity. This is where a chrono would come in handy.

jstory

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 14, 2015
    Wabash
    Hodgen has a great online manual. Was just introduced to me yesterday by another INGO member. Check it out, it does show you can use 700X in both 38 and 357. Check it out...

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    I would not. Extra case space and small amounts of powder may result in incomplete burn. Incomplete burn sucks, not only in terms of inconsistent loads but in terms of filth and unburnt powder in the nooks and crannies of the gun which can cause malfunctioning.

Load 38 using 38 recipes and 357 using 357 recipes. If there happens to be some overlap, go ahead but don't just assume it'll work.

Last edited:

Seancass

Master
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 12, 2008
    Near Whiteland, IN
    I would not. Extra case space and small amounts of powder may result in incomplete burn. Incomplete burn sucks, not only in terms of inconsistent loads but in terms of filth and unborn powder in the nooks and crannies of the gun which can cause malfunctioning.

Load 38 using 38 recipes and 357 using 357 recipes. If there happens to be some overlap, go ahead but don't just assume it'll work.