• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bahrutile

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 16, 2012
    I am new to working on this, I've always shot with my left eye shut while firing right handed. The last two range trips I have been working on this, its different but I'm happy with the results. I'm wondering if others work on this as well or if I'm just very late to this party.

Perhaps some tips, tricks, advice, that will help me be a better shooter.

x10

Master
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Apr 11, 2009
    Martinsville, IN
    Relax and don't think about it, at some point the vision of the left eye will just go away, but you will still be aware of targets and your surroundings,

We should just train beginers with a piece of scotch tape over thier non dominant eye, and let it come natural

jve153

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 14, 2011
    bargersville, in
    close one eye, get sight picture, open eye, fire shot, repeat shot. keep second eye open until you start missing. repeat. i do this when i go to the range and it has made me a lot better. still not good at it, but i am a lot better at putting shots on target with both eyes open than i was. my misses are a lot closer as well.

Bahrutile

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 16, 2012
    That is what I am working to achieve, being able to put rounds on target with out having to think. Building up that muscle memory...

Bigshep

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 29, 2012
    New Albany
    I don't have much of an issue shooting with both eyes open now, but I learned to do that when i was in the Army with an M16 and M4. For me it was just doing it and getting used to it was all. Didn't really have any technique to get better either. It all comes down to practice and muscle memory.

netsecurity

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 14, 2011
    Hancock County