• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bigretic

Master
    Rating - 100%
    71   0   0
    Jan 14, 2011
    NWI
    So, I'm fairly new to the whole pool thing. This is the 2nd full year of it. Happy wife, happy life, right?
    Anyway, it's a 27 foot above ground (round). The winter cover that came with it was a piece of poo. Ripped at the seam in the middle of the pool during the winter last year, so I need a new one. Wife says, just by another like that and keep replacing them. I say horse poo. I don't like the wire and tensioner fastening system of it either - and the fact you have to over flood on top of the cover with water to keep it down, which doesn't really even work because the wind gets under there anyway and water moves and the dumb thing is flapping in the wind anyhow. I think the whole setup sucks. Why isn't there a way to put the floats in the middle and create a high point so that no water collects on top of it? Would snow be the issue, weighing it down?
    If you like or have some input for me I'm all ears. Need to buy or order a new winter cover setup asap.
    Thanks. -d

CountryBoy19

Grandmaster
    Rating - 91.7%
    11   1   0
    Nov 10, 2008
    Bedford, IN
    Although your situation is a bit different, I'll weigh in with what little I know. My parents have an in-ground pool at their place. When they winterize they put 2 tractor tire inner-tubes under the cover as floats. These keep the cover elevated just enough to keep snow-melt/rain running off the cover. This is the way I have always seen it done. I, personally, don't know much at all about winterizing a pool so I can't say much more than that.

littletommy

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 29, 2009
    A holler in Kentucky