• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bigum1969

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    SW Indiana
    So here's the deal. I'm heading out soon to a wedding in CA followed by a week of vacation traveling around the state. I know that CC is absolutely not an option, but can I even bring a gun and travel with it in a rental car? I figure the gun and ammo would have to be separate, but would I even be allowed to have a gun with me?

I grew up in CA, went to college there, left and have never looked back. But, I do seem to end up there once a year for some reason.

I've also never checked a firearm on an airplane, so that's got me reasonably intimidated.

Any thoughts, suggestions or guidance?:dunno:

Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    May 19, 2008
    Indian-noplace
    *IM NOT A LAWYER, SO DO NOT READ THE FOLLOWING ADVICE AS SUCH*

Im not sure. Kommiefornia has always had wild gun hating laws. I too am glad I moved out of Socal all those years ago.

Your best bet, would be to have the pistol out of drivers reach, in a locked box, unloaded, and mag out of the pistol.

Personally, I would have the slide off the pistol.

If you were pulled over, and the case goes to trial, at most you would be found as "Lack of Intent."

Now all of this is basically useless if the matter arose that you really needed it....

munky_3434

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 14, 2008
    Brazil, IN
    contact the airport regarding their policy on flying/checking your weapon.
    contact the local law enforcement in the area for further
    guidance, local policy

(if you fall under law enforcement officers safety act it cures a few headaches)

pmpmstrb

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 10, 2008